Has the world changed or have I changed? - Pop Music Heroes: The Smiths


I must admit I am a product of The Smiths’ ideas to a large extent. They were the only and most fascinating group in pop music to me and represented the fuel of imagination for my poor, miserable self during my teenage years. They were a model for how talented, creative and imaginative artists should stand against general mediocrity and the packs of insufferable posers nourished by the vicious and criminal media.

Want get to know their work? No problem. Just hit the below link for a small treat. Yes, go ahead; I promise you won’t be disappointed.

The Smiths - Singles Box

Influential Albums: Roxy Music (1972) by Roxy Music

This album is one of the reasons Roxy Music is hailed as one of the greatest bands in Rock history.

Forget about their “Avalon” and “Don’t Stop the Dance” phase. If you’re interested in music that transcends norms and has real artistic value, then you should start here.

If you like The Velvet Underground (the avant-garde side of the Velvets, mind you), ambient music, acid jazz, rock, and ballads, then this album will not fail you.

Stop wasting time and hurry to get it here: Roxy Music - Roxy Music (1972)

Beyond Good and Evil - Pop Music Heroes: The Pop Group

Well, if this is not how a true art rock band must sound then I’d be damned. To me this band is seditiously influential. And I can see why they could never make the charts: they’re too fucking good for the masses!  

Grab the full album here:

The Pop Group - Y

Smiths Indeed: Rare demo unleashed!

A rare demo of The Smiths’ classic ‘Paint a Vulgar Picture' has recently surfaced and I decided to share it here with anyone thirsty for good music. To make it even more appealing to those desirous souls out there, I’ve also added a hatful of unreleased versions of their songs to the mix. 

It’s a fact widely known to anyone who loves Morrissey and Marr’s work that finding never-released or demo versions of their songs is an unequivocally hard task. The songwriting duo worked doggedly and relentlessly, and pretty much released all of their material before dissolving their partnership at the end of the eighties. Recently though, more than a handful of demos with their songs have sprung up on the net astounding fans worldwide to a stupor of excitement. And although very much a cliche, that old saying is proved right yet again: it’s better late than never.

So, hit the link if you’re a Smiths’ fan for the file containing ‘Paint a Vulgar Picture' and a few other goodies.

Who says it’s good to be alive? - Pop Music Heroes: Richard Hell & The Voidoids

Richard Hell & The Voidoids, one of the exponents of the New York underground music scene in the mid-late seventies, served as inspiration to what later became known as “the Punk movement” in England. Usually forgotten by “audiophiles”, The Voidoids were one of the best bands of their generation.

Here’s a compilation of their work just going begging for download. 

Don’t be scared if it gets loud

Up for grabs here are a couple of unreleased Echo & The Bunnymen demos and other rare material straight from an old tape of mine.

It’s a real special treat for those in the know.

Album Review: The Frogs, ‘It’s Only Right and Natural’

Umm… Let’s see… How to properly describe The Frogs’ music?


I’ll give it a try, though:

Tongue-in-cheek yet infectious and concise pop-rock-pseudo-punk-psychedelic-folk music; a mix between the Marx Brothers, The Mothers of Invention, Captain Beefheart, and everything else in between.

Enough with wordiness and redundancy: if you like good ol’ rock ‘n’ roll and have a sense of humor, then you’re in for a real treat.

Track listing:

1. “I’ve Got Drugs (Out of the Mist)” – 2:20
2. “I Don’t Care If U Disrespect Me (Just So You Love Me)” – 2:04
3. “Hot Cock Annie” – 2:19
4. “These Are the Finest Queen Boys (I’ve Ever Seen)” – 2:12
5. “Rosy Jack World” – 2:23
6. “Someone’s Pinning Me to the Ground” – 1:44
7. “Baby Greaser George” – 1:54
8. “(Thank God I Died in) The Car Crash” – 2:12
9. “Gather ‘Round for Savior #2” – 2:35
10. “Richard Dick Richards” – 1:40
11. “Men (Come on Men)” – 2:39
12. “Dykes Are We” – 3:02
13. “Been a Month Since I Had a Man” – 2:27
14. “Homos” – 1:55

The left behind

I have always thought it to be extremely sinful that almost nobody mentions or know much about Pete Wylie these days. Along with Ian McCulloch and Julian Cope he was part or the infamous ensemble ‘The Crucial Three’ in the late 1970’s - a group that served as foundation for future acts Echo & The Bunnymen and The Teardrop Explodes, respectively. Wylie and his band The Wah! Heat were one of the first to dabble with the concept of blending psychedelia with Punk’s DIY attitude. Their album ‘Nah = Poo — The Art of Bluff’ is hair-raising.


Track listing:

1. Wind Up
2. Otherboys
3. Why’d You Imitate The Cut Out
4. Mission Impossible
5. Somesay
6. Seven Thousand Names Of Wah
7. Sleep (A Lullaby For Josie)
8. Seven Minutes To Midnight
9. Death Of Wah
10. Forget The Down
11. Checkmate Syndrome
12. Other Boys
13. Seven Thousand Names Of Wah
14. Seven Minutes To Midnight
15. Forget The Down
16. Somesay

Album Review: The Pandoras, ‘It’s About Time’

The Pandoras were a Californian band from the eighties heavily influenced by the sixties “punk-garage” and part of the so-called Paisley Underground movement. Their first album It’s About Time sounds like The Shangri-Las on speed and is replete with guitar fuzz effects and Farfisa-style attacks à la Daryl Hooper. The record features uncompromised songwriting and is driven by an all-out adrenaline surge that spellbinds the listener from the get-go. Songs like “It’s About Time” , “I Live My Life”, and “Want Need Love” are almost instant classics. This certainly is one of those records which get better with the passing of the years.

Track listing:

1. Hot Generation
2. You Don’t Satisfy
3. It’s About Time
4. I Want Him
5. James
6. He’s Not Far
7. Haunted Beach Party
8. The Hump
9. I Live My Life
10. Want Need Love
11. It Ain’t True
12. High on a Cloud
13. Cry on My Own
14. Going His Way
15. I’m Here, I’m Gone
16. That’s Your Way Out
17. Why Listen
18. You Lie [#] Listen
19. You Ain’t No Friend of Mine [#]
20. I Want My Caveman [#]

all write is a blog by alex ferreira. it is in fact a continuation of his why write? blog.